Writing 101

Standard

Day 1 – Free Writing

Blogging – Writing 101  -20 minutes stream of consciousness writing.

Free writing keep on writing however silly and apparently trivial. Can I do it? Can I really manage to keep writing for twenty minutes without stopping as it were for breath? Won’t I get tired, run out of ideas, want to pause and re-read and then alter and correct what I have written? Only way to find out is to try it and see. Surely I should have enough material cluttering up my mind to be able to churn some of it out and get it written down?

Today – a windy and wet day when I didn’t get out further than the gate to bring the dustbins in and to next door to deliver a Christmas card. So much for getting out for a walk or bike ride every day. But does it really matter in the long run? I don’t want to get soaked to the skin just because I feel I have to go out whatever the weather. This is one of the great joys of retirement. You are master or your own time – to a certain extent. You can decide what you do and when you do it. OK there are some things that are tied to a particular time – meetings, church services, appointment with doctor/dentist/optician. But mostly I can look at the coming day, consider the weather, my own state of mind and body and then decide what I want to do, what I need to do and what can be postponed or even abandoned. It’s a great feeling but of course it doesn’t always apply and it’s only too easy to get immersed in something I am writing or reading and lose track of time and before I know it it’s time for dinner or tea and I haven’t done half the things I’d planned.

Since my hip operations I have developed what call the “30-minute rule” . I do one task for half an hour – whether cleaning the floors or writing a play and after that I stop – even if I am in the middle of a job -like now.!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

