Sighs in Summer

Standard

Am I the only person who doesn’t like hot weather? I really love it when we get to Autumn and the air is crisp and clear and I come alive again..

Here’s my take on Summer –

The sun beats down from a brazen sky.
The grass is parched the beck is dry.
For the life of me I can’t think why
Folk say “What wonderful weather!”

Lying still you can’t help sweating,
Kiddies wingeing, babies fretting,
Amidst it all, what is the betting

You’ll hear “What wonderful weather!”

Suffocating in the heat,
Nursing sweaty swollen feet,
I dream of rain and snow and sleet
What I’d call wonderful weather!

I cannot think when I am weltering
In pools of sweat, I’m stifled, sweltering
The flies and wasps go helter-skeltering
They think it’s wonderful weather.

It isn’t that I hate the sun,
But burning like a current bun
Cooked too long and overdone
Is hardly my idea of fun
Oh how I hate this weather!cg16d-2

ESME

Leave a Reply

