Facebook, Twitter and Cars

Standard

Why is it assumed everyone drives a car? After an operation you are told how soon you will be able to start driving again, when you have a tooth extracted you are told NOT to drive yourself home as the anaesthetic might make you woozy. The car is assumed to be the default way of getting around.

My personal slogan is: WALK IF YOU CAN, CYCLE IF YOU LIKE, CATCH A BUS IF YOU CAN FIND ONE (might be difficult in rural Lancashire now the county council have axed so many rural routes) DRIVE IF YOU MUST, BUT ONLY IF YOU MUST.  

I admit I am peculiar in that I don’t drive – by choice. I’ve not been banned or anything, but  don’t feel I want to indulge in an activity that is as potentially lethal as smoking,  worse in fact – smoking can kill you; bad driving can kill innocent road-users.  The notion of “one man, one vote” has become “one person, one car”. Everyone is expected to drive whether they are any good at this unnatural activity or not.

So much for the infernal combustion engine. Now in the world of the internet Facebook and Twitter are fast becoming the equivalents of the car. Everywhere I turn I am urged to “like” someone or something of “follow” the tweets of some twit. Someone once described having a Twitter account being  like standing in the middle of  busy pub and shouting your opinions to all and sundry. From what I have read tweeting can be dangerous too,  when some message intended for a few close friends is blasted out to the whole world.  No, thanks I’ll stick to the uses of the internet I am familiar with and have a reasonable  control over, namely email, various web-based forums – or should that be fora? – plus the occasional text message.

Leave a Reply

